Cypress Hill's Eric Bobo Teams Up With Chilean Producer Latin Bitman

Photography by Salvador Rojas

Cypress Hill Percussionist Eric Bobo Teams Up With Chilean Producer Latin Bitman for �Ritmo Machine,� A Funky Mix of Electronic Beats and Live Latin Percussion

Guest Artists Include Chali 2na (Jurassic 5), Sen Dog (Cypress Hil), Ana Tijoux, Money Mark & Mix Master Mike (Beastie Boys), P-Nut (311) and Sick Jacken (ThePsycho Realm)

Nacional Records is proud to announce the November 22nd release of �Welcome to the Ritmo Machine�, a new collaboration between CYPRESS HILL's percussionist Eric Bobo and mix master Latin Bitman. With a funky blend of hip-hop beats, live instrumentation, and guest appearances, Ritmo Machine is a border-crossing culture clash of electronic, hip-hop and Latin music.

Eric Bobo, the son of Latin jazz legend Willie Bobo, brings exciting live percussion to Latin Bitman�s signature fusion of dub, electronica and hip hop. Bobo�s funky percussion sounds were first unleashed to the world on the Beastie Boys� classic albums �Check Your Head� and �Ill Communication�. Together as �Ritmo Machine�, Bobo and Bitman�s collaboration also features guest appearances from Money Mark & Mix Master Mike (Beastie Boys), Sen Dog (Cypress Hill), Ana Tijoux, P-Nut (311), Chali 2na (Jurassic 5) and Sick Jacken (Psycho Realm).

Chilean beatmaker Latin Bitman connected with Bobo earlier this year during Cypress Hill�s Lollapalooza tour in South America. The two musicians got together to record �Welcome to the Ritmo Machine� in Argentina, and the sparks caught fire. The resulting album is a conversation between two artists with similar tastes but very different backgrounds. Bobo and Bitman�s fusion of electronic and acoustic rhythms produces a unique hybrid made of equal parts old-school hip-hop, traditional Latin music and progressive electronica.

Eric Bobo, who recorded and toured with the BEASTIE BOYS during their groundbreaking albums of the early '90s, has been a full time member of Cypress Hill since he first connected with the legendary hip-hop crew at Woodstock in 1994. His debut solo album �Meeting of the Minds� was released by Nacional Records in 2008, followed by his critically-acclaimed underground mixtape collaboration with Beat Junkies� DJ Rhetmattic. Earlier this year, Bobo�s infectious percussion was featured on Cypress Hill�s hit single �Armada Latina� along with Marc Anthony and Pitbull.

Eric Bobo made his public performance debut at the age of 5, playing on-stage with his father, Latin jazz legend Willie Bobo. When Bobo was 15, his father passed away and he took over Willie's band for a full year while still in high school. In the '80s, Bobo became part of the emerging NYC hip-hop scene, and eventually joined the Beastie Boys. Bobo has since recorded and performed with a diverse range of artists, including The Black Crowes, 311, Gnarls Barkley, Rage Against The Machine, Smashing Pumpkins, Ella Fitzgerald, and Fort Minor (feat. Mike Shinoda of Linkin Park).

Following the launch of his critically-acclaimed self-titled debut, Latin Bitman made his U.S. performance debut in the summer of 2008 at Central Park SummerStage in New York City. His 2010 follow-up album �Colour� was described by �Billboard� as �a musically adventurous collage of dub, bossa nova, lounge, hip-hop and electronica� and was featured EA Sports� soccer-themed video game �FIFA� and TV shows such as �Dexter� and �90210�.

Growing up surfing on the northern coast of Chile, Bitman combines the relaxed beach vibes of his childhood with the funky urban sounds of his cosmopolitan home of Santiago. Surfing dominated Bitman�s childhood with a passion that started at the young age of 9. He eventually became a serious contender on the world stage, representing Chile in the Olympic games of surfing in Huntington Beach, California. While Bitman�s focus would move towards music, surfing remains in the soul of his songs.

1. Welcome To The Ritmo Machine
2. Maestro
3. Witness This Heat (feat. Chali 2na)
4. La Calle (feat. Sick Jacken & Ana Tijoux)
5. This Day
6. Save My World (feat. Mix Master Mike)
7. Senny Sosa (feat. Sen-Dog)
8. Sangre
9. Follow Me (feat. Money Mark)
10. Sabe (feat. Pato Machete)
11. The Ooohs
12. Brazil

Stream Album:

Copyright 1997-2018 | | | | | | All Rights Reserved
Connect with us on Facebook | Twitter | Pinterest | Tumblr | Instagram | Youtube
Business Inquiries | terms of service | privacy | Advertise with us!